Sustainability

The sustainability challenges we face are complex and fluid, and are shared across borders and industries. We believe in a coordinated, collaborative and holistic approach to drive positive change. BEC is committed to working with its members, the wider business community, the Hong Kong Government, and others in Hong Kong society to realise a sustainable economy. In this way, we are enablers within the sustainability ecosystem, working with different partners to build capacity and encourage the adoption of innovative practices and technologies through green collaboration, practical projects and advisory, using BEC as a green lab, and nurturing leadership.

We participate in the shared global agenda for sustainable development as a member of the wider global community. As we harness and augment the positive impact of our members and other partners in Hong Kong, we make direct and indirect contributions to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (“SDGs”). As a multi-stakeholder platform focused on sharing and enhancing knowledge, we have identified two overarching SDGs where BEC contributes the greatest value:

  1. SDG 4*: BEC aims to expand and enhance sustainability knowledge in Hong Kong to encourage innovation and improve environmental practices and performance.
  2. SDG 17#: BEC aims to be an “enabler” to encourage and promote effective public, public-private and civil society partnerships for sustainable development.”

*BEC specifically contributes to achieving SDG 4.7: By 2030, ensure that all learners acquire the knowledge and skills needed to promote sustainable development, including, among others, through education for sustainable development and sustainable lifestyles, human rights, gender equality, promotion of a culture of peace and non-violence, global citizenship, and appreciation of cultural diversity and of culture’s contribution to sustainable development.

#BEC specifically contributes to SDG 17.16: Enhance the global partnership for sustainable development, complemented by multi-stakeholder partnerships that mobilise and share knowledge, expertise, technology and financial resources, to support the achievement of the sustainable development goals in all countries, in particular developing countries; and SDG 17.17: Encourage and promote effective public, public-private and civil society partnerships, building on the experience and resourcing strategies of partnerships.

 

Check out our latest Sustainability Report to understand how we enable sustainability.

可持續發展

我們推動可持續發展所面臨的挑戰,不但複雜多變,而且跨越地域邊界和行業。我們相信要以協調、協作和全面的方式推動正面變革。商界環保協會承諾與會員、商界、香港政府和社會各界合作,聚焦香港,實現可持續經濟發展。我們決心推動可持續發展,透過綠色合作、實踐項目與諮詢、商界環保協會的環保實驗室定位,以及栽培領導能力,與不同合作夥伴一起建立實力,鼓勵採納創新的實踐模式和科技。

作為國際社會一分子,我們在全球化的可持續發展議程上從不缺席。我們在本港善用並擴大會員和合作夥伴的積極影響,為聯合國可持續發展目標作出直接和間接貢獻。作為致力於共享和豐富知識的多元持份者平台,商界環保協會在以下兩個可持續發展目標作出最大貢獻:

  1. 可持續發展目標 4*:商界環保協會致力在香港宣揚和強化可持續發展知識,鼓勵創新,並改善環保實務和表現。
  2. 可持續發展目標 17#:商界環保協會目標成為「推動者」,透過鼓勵和促進有效的公共、公私和民間社會夥伴關係,實現可持續發展。

*商界環保協會特別為實現具體目標 4.7 作出貢獻:到 2030 年,確保所有進行學習的人都掌握可持續發展所需的知識和技能,具體做法包括開展可持續發展、可持續生活方式、人權和性別平等方面的教育、弘揚和平和非暴力文化、提升全球公民意識,以及肯定文化多樣性和文化對可持續發展的貢獻。

#商界環保協會專注作出貢獻的範疇包括具體目標 17.16:加強全球可持續發展夥伴關係,以眾多持分者夥伴關係作為補充,調動和分享知識、專長、技術和財政資源,以支持所有國家,尤其發展中國家實現可持續發展目標;以及具體目標 17.17:借鑒夥伴關係的經驗和籌資戰略,鼓勵和推動建立有效的公共、公私和民間社會夥伴關係。

 

請閱覽商界環保協會最新的可持續發展報告,了解我們如何實現可持續發展。